Board of Directors

In collaboration with MedStar Health and the MedStar Union Memorial Administration, the Board of Directors helps to develop the hospital's strategic plan. They also oversee quality assurance, risk management, physician credentialing and appointment, as well as performance improvement functions in concert with Administration. The Board of Directors also plays an important role in fundraising and community outreach services.


Board Chair

Savas J. Karas

Board Vice Chair

Dawn M. Motovidlak


Bradley S. Chambers

Assistant Treasurer

Deana L. Stout

Assistant Secretary

Linda Heath

Board Members

  • Derrick A. Adams, AIA
  • Eileen Auen
  • Nathan Beil
  • Zeena Dorai, MD
  • Jeff Elkin
  • Peter R. Fenwick
  • Michael Fiocco, MD
  • Christopher Kearney, MD
  • Christopher Gibson
  • Dawn M. Motovidlak
  • David Nasrallah, MD
  • James R. Paquette
  • Nancy N. Perry, DNP, RN, CNE
  • Michael Randolph, MD
  • William Rienhoff IV
  • Kenneth A. Samet, FACHE
  • Peter Sloane, MD
  • P. Justin Tortolani, MD
  • David Norris Willis 
  • John A. Wolf
  • Eskandar Yazaji, MD